Liggins Institute


Directory of staff and students

This page lists academic, professional and honorary staff and doctoral level students. Links provide access to further contact details and profiles in the University's online Directory.


Name

Position

Phone

Email

Other

Professors

 

Wayne Cutfield

Director
Professor of Paediatric Endocrinology
 

+64 9 923 1966

w.cutfield@auckland.ac.nz

 

David Cameron-Smith

Deputy Director, Research Director
Professor of Nutrition
 

+64 9 923 1336

d.cameron-smith@auckland.ac.nz

 

Sir Peter Gluckman

Distinguished Professor
Professor of Paediatric and Perinatal Biology
 

+64 9 923 6318

pd.gluckman@auckland.ac.nz

Chief Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of NZ

Professor Jane Harding

Distinguished Professor
Professor of Neonatology
 

+64 9 923 8346

j.harding@auckland.ac.nz

University of Auckland Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Philip Baker

Professor of Maternal and Fetal Health

+64 9 923 1637

philip.baker@auckland.ac.nz


Director, Gravida: National Centre for Growth and Development

Professor Frank Bloomfield

Professor of Neonatology

+64 9 923 8346

f.bloomfield@auckland.ac.nz

Jointly with Paediatrics: Child and Youth Health

Professor Caroline Crowther

Professor of Maternal and Perinatal Health  

c.crowther@auckland.ac.nz

 

Professor Paul Hofman

Professor of Paediatric Endocrinology

+64 9 923 6453

p.hofman@auckland.ac.nz

 

Associate professors

 

Susan Morton

Associate Professor  

s.morton@auckland.ac.nz

Jointly with Centre for Longitudinal Research and Paediatrics

Mark Vickers



Associate Professor
Academic Director

+64 9 923 6687

m.vickers@auckland.ac.nz

 

Senior lecturers and research fellows

 

Dr Mhoyra Fraser

Senior Research Fellow

+64 9 923 3024

m.fraser@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Jian Guan

Senior Research Fellow

+64 9 923 6134

j.guan@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Anne Jaquiery

Senior Lecturer

 

a.jaquiery@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Dongxu Liu

Senior Research Fellow

+64 9 923 9603

dx.liu@auckland.ac.nz

 
Dr Chris McKinlay Senior Lecturer      

Dr Mark Oliver

Senior Research Fellow

+64 7 333 8493

m.oliver@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Justin O'Sullivan

Senior Research Fellow

 

justin.osullivan@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Jo Perry

Senior Research Fellow

+64 9 923 7873

j.perry@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Allan Sheppard

Senior Research Fellow

 

a.sheppard@auckland.ac.nz

 

Research fellows, clinical research fellows

 

Dr Ben Albert

Clinical Research Fellow

+64 9 923 1151

b.albert@auckland.ac.nz

Doctoral candidate
Dr Yvonne Anderson Clinical Senior Research Fellow     Doctoral candidate

Dr Julie Brown

Research Fellow/Study Coordinator

     

Dr Tatjana Buklijas

Research Fellow

 

t.buklijas@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Elise Donovan

Research Fellow

 +64 9 923 4776

e.donovan@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Manisha Ganeshan

Research Fellow

+64 9 923 9235

m.ganeshan@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Clint Gray

Research Fellow

+64 9 923 4785

c.gray@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Silmara Gusso

Research Fellow

+64 9 923 3795

s.gusso@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Felicia Low

Research Fellow

+64 9 923 4489

f.low@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr James Markworth

Research Fellow

 

j.markworth@auckland.ac.nz

 
Dr Cameron Mitchell Research Fellow      

Dr Sherry Ngo

Research Fellow

 

s.ngo@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Zengxiang Pan

Research fellow

 

z.pan@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Anna Ponnampalam

Research Fellow

+64 9 923 2115

a.ponnampalam@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Clare Reynolds

Research Fellow

+64 9 923 2753

c.reynolds@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Sumudu Seneviratne

Clinical Research Fellow

+64 9 923 1531

s.seneviratne@auckland.ac.nz

Doctoral candidate

Dr Joanna Stanley

Research Fellow

+64 9 923 4616

j.stanley@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Karolina Sulek

Research Fellow

+64 9 923 4751

k.sulek@auckland.ac.nz

 

LENScience

   

Ms Jacquie Bay

Director LENScience

+64 9 923 4282

j.bay@auckland.ac.nz

 

Mr Chandar Dewan

Professional Teaching Fellow

+64 9 923 1338

c.dewan@auckland.ac.nz

 
Dr Sarah Morgan Research Fellow      
Honorary academics  
         

Dr Fredrik Ahlsson

Uppsala University, Sweden
Women's and Children's Health
 

 

Consultant physician

Dr Jane Alsweiler

University of Auckland
Paediatrics: Child and Youth Health

+64 9 379 7440
ext 25367

j.alsweiler@auckland.ac.nz

Senior Lecturer  

Dr Ahila Ayyavoo        
Dr Chris Baldi University of Otago
Dunedin School of Medicine
    Senior Research Fellow
Associate Professor Malcolm Battin Auckland District Health Board
Newborn Services
    Director
Professor John Challis University of Toronto, Canada     Professor Emeritus
Dr Stuart Dalziel Auckland District Health Board
Paediatric Emergency Services
    Specialist
Associate Professor Peter Dearden University of Otago
Genetics Otago
    Director
Dr Alec Ekeroma University of Auckland
Obstetrics and Gynaecology
    Senior Lecturer
Professor Elwyn Firth University of Auckland
Sport and Exercise Science
     
Dr Richard Fisher Fertility Associates, Auckland     Co-founder, Director
Professor Terrence Forrester University of the West Indies, Jamaica
Tropical Medicine Research Institute
    Chief Scientist, UWI Solutions for Developing Countries
Dr Katie Groom University of Auckland
Obstetrics and Gynaecology
    Senior Lecturer
Professor Alistair Gunn University of Auckland
Physiology
    Head of Department
Professor Mark Hanson University of Southampton
Institute of Developmental Sciences
    Director
Dr Deborah Harris Waikato District Health Board
Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
    Nurse Practitioner

Professor Michael Heymann

   

m.heymann@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Emeritus

Dr Timothy Hornung Auckland District Health Board
Paediatric Cardiology
    Specialist
Dr Craig Jefferies Auckland District Health Board
Peadiatric Diabetes and Endocrinology
    Specialist
Professor Lesley McCowan University of Auckland
Obstetrics and Gynaecology
    Head of Department
Cameron McLean University of Auckland      
Professor Kenneth McNatty Victoria University Wellington
School of Biological Sciences
    Professor
Reproductive Biology
Professor Poul Nielsen University of Auckland
Auckland Bioengineering Institute
     
Dr John Peek Fertility Associates, Auckland     Group Operations Manager
Tony Pleasants AgResearch, Hamilton
Ruakura Research Centre
     

Dr Deborah Sloboda

McMaster University, Canada
Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences
   

Associate Professor

Professor Hamish Spencer University of Otago
Genetics Otago
     

Dr Michael Steiner

University of Auckland

+64 9 923 6689

m.steiner@auckland.ac.nz

 

Professor Peter Stone Auckland Distric Health Board
Maternal and Fetal Medicine
    Specialist
Associate Professor Andrew Taberner University of Auckland
Auckland Bioengineering Institute
     

Professional staff

 
Dr Anne Bardsley Research Assistant
PMCSA Office
     
Dr Erica Beilharz Assistant Manager, NZ -
Epigen Consortium
     

Mrs Coila Bevan

Senior Clinical Coordinator

+64 9 923 3437

c.bevan@auckland.ac.nz

 

Mr Chandrakanth Bhoothpur

Research Technician

+64 9 923 3432

c.bhoothpur@auckland.ac.nz

 

Miss Janene Biggs

Senior Clinical Research Nurse

+64 9 923 6098

j.biggs@auckland.ac.nz

 

Miss Christine Brennan

Clinical Research Nurse

+64 9 923 1624

ch.brennan@auckland.ac.nz

 

Ellen Campbell

Clinical Research Projects Manager

 

e.campbell@auckland.ac.nz

 

Pandora Carlyon

Communications Manager

+64 9 923 2305

p.carlyon@auckland.ac.nz

 

Ms Hazel Cooper

Finance and Planning Manager

 

h.cooper@auckland.ac.nz

 

Tineke Crawford

Translation Synthesis Research Coordinator

 

t.crawford@auckland.ac.nz

 
Deborah Dalliessi Development Manager      

Dr José Derraik

Senior Research Associate

+64 9 923 3794

j.derraik@auckland.ac.nz

 

Annie Evans

Research Technician

     

Kelly Fredell

Clinical Assessment Coordinator

     

Karen Frost

LiFePATH Database Manager

     

Mrs Tamara Gaitau

Receptionist

+64 9 923 6691

t.gaitau@auckland.ac.nz

 

Travis Gunn

Research Technician

     

Mrs Prabha Hariswamy

Finance Assistant

+64 9 923 5372

p.hariswamy@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Steve Hodgkinson

Business Innovation Manager

+64 9 923 2133

s.hodgkinson@auckland.ac.nz

 

Miss Maggie Honeyfield-Ross

Research Technician

 

m.honeyfield-ross@auckland.ac.nz

 

Mrs Christine Keven

Research Technician

+64 9 923 3439

c.keven@auckland.ac.nz

 

Mrs Jean Leonard

Senior Administrator

+64 9 923 2312

j.leonard@auckland.ac.nz

 

Xiaoling Li

Research Technician

 

xl.li@auckland.ac.nz

 

Suzanne Mannering

Research Nurse

     
Sapphire Martin Research Nurse      

Ms Elizabeth McIntosh

Research Accountant

+64 9 923 5708

e.mcintosh@auckland.ac.nz

 

Grace McKnight

Research/Data Assistant

     

Stephanie Moloney

Research Technician

 

s.moloney@auckland.ac.nz

 

Gregg Pardoe

Facilities Manager, Ngapouri

 

 g.pardoe@auckland.ac.nz

 

Miss Rachana Patel

Research Technician

+64 9 923 3440

rachna.patel@auckland.ac.nz

 

Miss Hui Hui Phua

Research Technician

+64 9 923 3432

h.phua@auckland.ac.nz

 

Mrs Sujata Prakash

Laboratory Technician, LENScience

+64 9 923 5090

s.prakash@auckland.ac.nz

 

Jenny Rogers

Research Nurse

     
Jing Rong Research Technician      

Miss Colleen Shaw

Laboratory Assistant

+64 9 923 3440

c.shaw@auckland.ac.nz

 

Philip Shepherd

Sequenom Operations Manager

 

p.shepherd@auckland.ac.nz

 

Kate Sommers

PA to Profs Jane Harding and Frank Bloomfield

+64 9 923 8346

k.sommers@auckland.ac.nz

 

Heather Stewart

Developmental Research Assistant

     

Ms Megan Stünzner

Research Administrator

+64 9 923 2814

m.stunzner@auckland.ac.nz

 

Ms Eleanor Surtida

Directorate Administrator

+64 9 923 1966

b.surtida@auckland.ac.nz

 

Mr Eric Thorstensen

Laboratory Manager

+64 9 923 1938

e.thorstensen@auckland.ac.nz

 
James Tomlinson General Assistant      
Jess Wilson Clinical Research Associate      
Rongxian Xu Research Assistant      

 Rong Zhang

Research Technician

+64 9 923 3440

r.zhang@auckland.ac.nz

 

PhD students

 
Dr Ben Albert Doctoral candidate
Medicine
     
Dr Yvonne Anderson Doctoral candidate
Paediatrics
     

Judith Ansell

Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
 

j.ansell@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Veronica Boyle Doctoral candidate
Obstetrics and gynaecology
     
Emma Buckles Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
     

Nataliia Burakevych

Doctoral candidate
Paediatrics
 

n.burakevych@auckland.ac.nz

 

Inswasti Cahyani

Doctoral candidate
Molecular medicine
 

i.cahyani@auckland.ac.nz

 

Vandre Casagrande Figueiredo

Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
 

v.casagrandefigueiredo@auckland.ac.nz

 

Vic Shao-Chih Chiang

Doctoral candidate
Physiology
 

vchi029@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 

Barbara Cormack

Doctoral candidate
health sciences
 

barbara.cormack@auckland.ac.nz

 

Randall D'Souza Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
     
Jamie de Seymour Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
     

Malina Doynova

Doctoral candidate
Molecular medicine
 

m.doynova@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Jo Hegarty

Doctoral candidate
Paediatrics
 

j.hegarty@auckland.ac.nz

 

Minglan Li

Doctoral candidate
Physiology
 

m.li@auckland.ac.nz

 

Shutan Liao

Doctoral candidate
Health sciences
   

 

Gagandeep Mallah

Doctoral candidate
Medicine


g.mallah@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Emma McGoldrick

Doctoral candidate
Medicine
     

Amber Milan

Doctoral candidate
Health sciences
 

a.milan@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Charlotte Oyston

Doctoral candidate
Obstetrics and gynaecology
 

c.oyston@auckland.ac.nz

 

Florian Pichlmuller

Doctoral candidate
Molecular medicine
 

f.pichlmuller@auckland.ac.nz 

 

Tatyana Pichugina

Doctoral candidate
Molecular medicine
 

t.pichugina@auckland.ac.nz

 

Chantal Pileggi

Doctoral candidate
Health sciences
 

c.pileggi@auckland.ac.nz

 

Jasmine Plows Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
     

Shikha Pundir

Doctoral candidate
Health sciences
 

s.pundir@auckland.ac.nz

 

William Schierding

Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
 

w.schierding@auckland.ac.nz

 

Stephanie Segovia

Doctoral candidate
Health sciences
 

s.segovia@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Sumudu Seneviratne Doctoral candidate
Paediatrics
     

Ana-Mishel Spiroski

Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
 

am.spiroski@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dharani Sontam

Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
   

 

Kai Yie Tay

Doctoral candidate
Physiology
 

k.tay@auckland.ac.nz

 

Melinda Thomas

Doctoral candidate
Molecular medicine
 

m.thomas@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Anna Tottman

Doctoral candidate
Paediatrics
 

a.tottman@auckland.ac.nz

 

Belinda Xu

Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
 

b.xu@auckland.ac.nz

 

Panzao Yang

Doctoral candidate
health sciences
 

p.yang@auckland.ac.nz

 

Amy Yip

Doctoral candidate
Molecular medicine
 

c.yip@auckland.ac.nz

 

Aida Zarfeshani

Doctoral candidate
Molecular medicine
 

a.zarfeshani@auckland.ac.nz

 

Nina Zeng Doctoral candidate
Biomedical sciences
     

Huan Zhao

Doctoral candidate
Obstetrics and Gynaecology
 

h.zhao@auckland.ac.nz

 

Jinbi Zhang

Doctoral candidate
Biomedical science
 

jinbi.zhang@auckland.ac.nz